A Little Bit of Everything

I’ve been trying to think of a witty way to start my blog all week and have been getting nowhere, so now I’m just going to jump in.

Why is my blog called Ollie’s Best?  Must be all the best stuff written by Ollie, of course!  Well, no, I’m not Ollie and as I’m just starting out I don’t want to put that much pressure on myself to come up with my best (as I mentioned, it took me a week to come up with the first line).  When I first started toying with the idea of a blog I read a few articles with tips, almost all of them mentioning it was best to keep your blog narrowed and focused.  But when I thought about what I most wanted to write about I realized it included a little bit of everything.  As much as I tried to narrow it down, every thing that popped into my head to write about seemed a bit random.  With the advice of successful bloggers floating through my mind I thought maybe I could keep different blogs for different subjects, but realized that was highly unrealistic as it will be difficult enough for me to keep up with one.  So how to make a little bit of everything work?  Then I thought of one of my favorite NYC restaurants – Ollie’s.  It is a chain of tasty, inexpensive Chinese restaurants throughout the city, and I’ve been going there since I was a kid.  They have tons of great options on their menu, but I normally go with the Little Bit of Everything soup because I can’t make up my mind.  This soup lives up to its name – they throw a little bit of everything into it, and the result is tasty, satisfying, and best of all, inexpensive.  If it works for Ollie’s then I’m hoping it could work for me as well.  So ladies and gentlemen, I present to you – Ollie’s Best.  A little bit of everything to live a fun and frugal life.

And in case you’re ever in NYC and stop by Ollie’s, I suggest you try out the Little Bit of Everything soup:

Leave a Reply

