Swag Bucks, the gateway site

Every year around New Years I set some goals for myself for the upcoming year.  They cover various aspects of my life, but I try to make them quantifiable – like save an extra $2,000 in savings account or finish graduate classes.  This year one of my goals was a bit more simple – learn how to save money in different ways.  I am reasonably disciplined with saving my money, but there are only so many ways you can stretch my small salary.  My intention was to learn a bit more about couponing and maybe score a freebie or two but by the end of January I stumbled upon Swag Bucks and since then I’ve made a lot more money than I thought I would when I set that goal.

Now Swag Bucks is really no get-rich-quick site, but it is a fun and legitimate site where you earn points (swag bucks) for doing a variety of things you’d normally do online – like internet searches, playing games, watching videos and commercials.  You can also earn points for shopping online, as well as get a nice bonus if you order from Groupon or similar sites.  I was essentially paid $10 when I signed up for a one-month FREE trial of Netflix.  Give me free movies for a month AND $10 in Amazon credit?  Count me in!  (Side note – only bad thing about that is that I wound up loving Netflix and am now on month four!  But there have been other free offers that I’ve successfully canceled after receiving my swag bucks)

After you earn enough points you can cash them in for a variety of prizes, such as gift cards to places like Amazon and Home Depot, for various prizes on their site, or you can even convert your earnings to cash by having it deposited into your PayPal account.  If you like donating money to charity but never seem to have enough money to help you can use your swag bucks for that as well – every month they highlight a different charity and make a lump sum donation at the end of the month.  While your 100 swag bucks (about $1) may not seem like much, combined with the everyone else’s donations it turns into a nice sum.  This month they are highlighting the ASPCA, and in previous months they’ve collected for the Japan Hurricane fund, the US hurricane fund, and for the Wounded Warriors.  It’s a great way to give back for those who can’t really afford to donate much.

When I first started Swag Bucks I really didn’t understand what it was all about, so I just did a few things here and there and still managed to earn $10 in Amazon gift cards the first month ($5 Amazon gift cards – AGCs – are the best value).  By the second month I was able to earn $25 in AGCs and then everything clicked – I’ve earned about $75 in AGCs every month since then.  I call Swag Bucks the “gateway site” because after learning my way on Swag Bucks I’ve found out about a host of similar sites and have been able to earn quite a bit there as well.  For beginners, though, I highly recommend Swag Bucks- the site is very user friendly, the customer service is great, and they really focus on the social aspects (they post daily blogs, release codes, and have a very active Facebook page), which makes the experience much more enjoyable.  That’s not to say that there aren’t glitches and issues, but if you learn not to sweat the small stuff you should have a good time!

So go ahead and sign up for an account at http://www.swagbucks.com/refer/RuebixPenguin (sorry the link won’t show up – this blog site won’t let me.  But if you decide to sign up I’d REALLY appreciate it if you’d copy and paste the link.  I’m more than happy to help you learn how to earn lots and lots of swag bucks!) and be sure to check my posts over the next few days as I give some beginners tips, tell you how to make an easy $25 each month, and then explain a bit more for the advanced swaggers!

Leave a Reply

